Opinion Editorials

Sep 25, 2018 Opinion Editorial

Last fall, the United States was devastated by an unprecedented string of natural disasters: Hurricanes Harvey, Irma, and Maria. These storms now account for three of our country’s five most expensive hurricanes on record, causing a combined $265 billion in damages. Even worse, the storms tragically took the lives of countless Americans.

Jul 30, 2018 Opinion Editorial

My wife Mary Grace and I are blessed to be the proud parents of four daughters.  As former small business owners, we experienced first-hand how difficult it is to balance raising a family and making ends meet.

Jun 18, 2018 Opinion Editorial

As I go to work at the U.S. Capitol, I pass vehicle barricades, armed guards, metal detectors and police dogs. Yet, while my colleagues and I go to work every day without any fear of attacks, our teachers and students go to school hoping that nothing happens to them. It’s embarrassing and unacceptable.

Issues:
Dec 1, 2017 Opinion Editorial

The cycle of disaster once again reared its ugly head this fall after years of relative quiet. In the span of a month, a wave of hurricanes took its horrible toll in human lives and left coastal communities underwater, destroying homes and businesses, while displacing millions of families.

Oct 12, 2017 Opinion Editorial

Back in 1986, Ronald President Reagan reignited the American dream. 

Through simplification and reduction, the tax code's suffocation on income and business was lifted, reversing over a decade of stagnation in America. 

Nearly 31 years after Reagan's landmark reform, President Donald Trump is leading the fight again. 

May 7, 2017 Opinion Editorial

By Rep. Lou Barletta

Over the past four months, I have been working with President Donald J. Trump to deliver on his pledge to help the American worker.  His “Buy American, Hire American” executive order is a prime example of how he is keeping his promises to put America first.

Issues:
Jul 7, 2016 Opinion Editorial

By Rep. Lou Barletta

Op-ed in the Washington Times

Issues:
May 9, 2016 Opinion Editorial

This coming September, Brayden Cummings would be celebrating his second birthday in Lehighton, Pennsylvania.  Sadly, he didn’t live long enough to see that young age, because he died of asphyxiation when he was only six weeks old.  Police say his mother, who was addicted to heroin and high on other drugs at the time, fell asleep on top of the boy and smothered him to death.  If there had been b

Issues:

Pages