Opinion Editorials

May 9, 2016 Opinion Editorial

By Rep. Lou Barletta and PA state Sen. John Yudichak

Issues:
Jan 26, 2016 Opinion Editorial

Imagine, if you will, a Pennsylvania family farm like many others, with pleasant fields growing crops meant for market – to support the farmer’s family and feed American citizens. Picture also a dry depression in one of those fields, which only gathers standing water during periods of heavy rain.

Aug 5, 2015 Opinion Editorial

Having lived through much of the Cold War between the United States and the Soviet Union, I can remember being taught to “duck and cover” under my desk in elementary school to practice for the feared nuclear attack.

Issues:
Jul 13, 2015 Opinion Editorial

When the news first broke about the heartbreaking murder of 32-year-old Kate Steinle in San Francisco earlier this month, the first person I thought of was Derek Kichline, formerly of Hazleton.

Issues:
Jun 4, 2015 Opinion Editorial

In 1997, with the nation still reeling following the Oklahoma City bombing, many were rightly concerned that convicted terrorist Timothy McVeigh — a Gulf War veteran — would be buried with honors in a military cemetery.

Issues:
Dec 1, 2014 Opinion Editorial

Barely 48 hours after President Barack Obama unilaterally granted amnesty to 5 million illegal immigrants, “Saturday Night Live” satirized the move in a remake of an old “Schoolhouse Rock” educational cartoon. 

Issues:
Jul 30, 2014 Opinion Editorial

Since the recent influx of illegal immigrants began at the southern border, we have heard the Obama administration and its allies blame the situation on people fleeing escalating violence in their home countries in Central America. 

Issues:
May 22, 2014 Opinion Editorial

The recent revelation that the Obama administration had released more than 36,000 illegal immigrants who had been convicted of other crimes should be the brightest red flag yet for those who claim to want to improve the laws that supposedly protect our borders.

Issues:

Pages